What do I need to know about Hazardous Materials compliance?
The Nevada State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) was established in 1987 to ensure compliance with the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), which is a stand-alone federal law enacted as part of the Superfund Amendment and Reauthorization Act (SARA Title III) and covers requirements related to hazardous materials.
EPCRA specifies what kinds of chemical releases and quantities require notification, to who reports and notification are required, and establishes threshold planning quantities. The provisions of EPCRA require industry to comply with reports of storage, manufacture and releases to specific agencies. Along with these reporting requirements, fees required by Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 459.99181, 459.99182 and Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 459.744 are collected and granted to state and local agencies to provide assistance in planning, training and equipment activities to prevent, respond to and mitigate hazardous materials incidents.
The State Fire Marshal's Office collects the Nevada Combined Agency Hazmat Facility Report (EPCRA Section 311/312) and associated fees on behalf of their office and the SERC. Submission deadline of chemical information into the Online Hazmat Reporting System is March 1st of every year. The State Fire Marshal's Office fee is $150 per facility for the hazmat permit. The system rolls over yearly on or around the second week in January. If this is your first time working with the Online Hazmat Reporting System, go to Hazmat Permitting Office for assistance.
The Online Hazmat Reporting System is accessible by dispatchers to assist first responders during an incident and staff to assist in responding to public information requests.
EPCRA Section 313, Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) Program fees are submitted directly to the SERC. Submission deadline of chemical information into the Toxic Release Inventory is July 1st of every year. Pursuant to NRS 459.744, there is a fee of $500 per report R.
No person will pay the SERC more than $7,500 for 311/312 and/or 313 fees.