What is the State Business License and who is required to file?
State law requires that every person or entity doing business in the State of Nevada obtain a State Business License or State Business License EXEMPTION annually. A business that meets the criteria shall not do business in the state of Nevada without the State Business License. Certain businesses may be exempt from the State Business License requirement. All entities whether they receive a State Business License, Exception or Exemption are assigned a Nevada Business Identification Number. This number is important for being able to register with State and local agencies in Nevada.Note: SilverFlume Nevada’s Business Portal guides the customer through the registration steps, including registering at the Nevada Department of Taxation and other agencies. Excepted and Exempt businesses are required to address all steps in the registration checklist regardless of the Secretary of State’s exception or exemption.
On July 22, 2003, new legislation went into effect that requires all holders of a State Business License and entities defined under NRS 360.765 to apply and to renew their business license on an annual basis. Starting July 1, 2009, the State Business License and annual renewal fee increased from $100 to $200. Taxpayers who currently have a State Business License shall pay the renewal fee based on their anniversary date. Entities no longer in business in this state must contact the Secretary of State. A person who fails to submit the annual fee required by the due date shall pay a penalty in the amount of $100 in addition to the annual fee. This penalty went into effect January 1, 2006. Effective October 1, 2009, the State Business License Fee is administered and collected by the Secretary of State's office. For additional information regarding this change please visit the Nevada Secretary of State’s office website at http://nvsos.gov/sos/licensing/state-business-license.